Bringing The Bridge House To Hayes
Ambleside's iconic Bridge House recreated in the garden centre
A replica copy of the famous Bridge House in Ambleside arrived at Hayes Garden World this morning to feature outside the South entrance. The Bridge House is possibly the most famous house in the Lake District and started out as possibly an apple store for Ambleside Hall with access from both sides of the river. The original Bridge House, which stands over the Stock Ghyll, was built over 300 years ago; it started out life as a bridge with the little house being added later. This Grade 1 listed building, which now houses a National Trust information centre, was gifted to the Trust after being purchased by locals in 1926. The little house was in need of serious repair so a group of locals, including William Heelis the husband of Beatrix Potter, decided to step in to save it from collapse.
Image: Bob Bendall
It consists of two small rooms; the downstairs room complete with an original stove from the 1800s when it was a tea house. It has seen many changes through the ages; cobblers, antique and bric-a-brac shop, weaving shed, counting house for the mills, chair-makers and almost unbelievably as a home for eight.
The replica here at Hayes was made by Edward Robinson with slate from Honister Slate Mine. Edward has constructed Lakeland Miniature Village, Flookburgh, which is open to the public. He started the project in 1992 with a little help from his son Michael and today he has over 100 iconic Lakeland buildings on show. The miniature landscapes feature houses, farms and barns including Townend, Troutbeck and Beatrix Potter’s Hilltop.
The Bridge House is just one of many iconic Lake District replicas destined to be displayed here at Hayes Garden World, so keep visiting to keep up to date with all our developments.
To see what events we have coming up here in store just click here.